Hello Friends, just a quick post to send out a warning about a site that is being sent out through emails. I was sent an email telling me someone tagged High Street Cottage in a photo, and when I went to see, it latched onto my emails and started inviting all my contacts, even though I had not given permission or signed up to join their site. It's called Shoppybag.
If you receive an email from them my suggestion is to delete it, do not click the link. Thank you Marcy from Antique Chase for helping me figure this one out.
Here's some more info about it that I found online
"YOU CONSENT TO RECEIVE COMMERCIAL E-MAIL MESSAGES FROM SHOPPYBAG AND ITS AFFILIATES, AND ACKNOWLEDGE AND AGREE THAT YOUR EMAIL ADDRESSES AND OTHER PERSONAL INFORMATION MAY BE USED BY SHOPPYBAG FOR THE PURPOSE OF INITIATING COMMERCIAL E-MAIL MESSAGES."
- GMail users who sign up will find that a script has taken permision to use their account, and that their contacts have been sent emails claiming that
has "tagged you with a! photo on ShoppyBag". They have to sign up to see the photo, thus spreading the spam. If this happens, the user can stop this by disabling third-party access to shoppybag.com.
I went back to their site, and clicked delete account, and the emails stopped, even though I never signed up, I think though by clicking on to see the photo you're in effect signing up to their spam site. I apologize to anyone who's been inconvienanced by this. Thanks tami